Foundation of Institute | A.N. Frumkin Institute of Physical Chemistry and Electrochemistry of the Russian Academy of Sciences

Foundation of Institute

The history of the Institute of Physical Chemistry and Electrochemistry in fact dates back to 1929, when academician V.A. Kistyakovsky, a well-known chemist and specialist in complex colloidal and electrochemical problems, was engaged by the USSR Academy of Sciences to organize a Colloidal-Electrochemical Laboratory in St. Petersburg (Leningrad). This event was inspired by rapid development of the chemistry of colloids in the beginning of the 20th century. The staff of the Laboratory initially included nine researchers studying various problems related to disperse systems, electrochemistry, and corrosion and passivation of metals.

  • In 1934, the Laboratory moved together with most of the Academy of Sciences from St. Petersburg to Moscow, and increased its status to become the Colloidal-Electrochemical Institute. Kistyakovsky became the first director of this institute and headed it until 1939, when the Presidium of the USSR Academy of Sciences allowed Kistyakovsky to retire from this position and engaged academician A.N. Frumkin to be the new director.
  • In 1945, the Colloidal-Electrochemical Institute was reorganized and given the name of the Institute of Physical Chemistry. Academician Frumkin headed the Institute until 1949.
  • In 1958, Frumkin initiated separation of the Department of Electrochemistry from the Institute of Physical Chemistry, with the formation of an independent Institute of Electrochemistry. Frumkin was a director of this institute until death in 1977. Then, the Institute of Electrochemistry was headed by academician V.E. Kazarinov (1977–1999) and by Prof. B.M. Grafov (1999–2004). In 1983, the Institute of Electrochemistry was named after A.N. Frumkin, in honor of its creator.
  • The Institute of Physical Chemistry was headed from 1949 to 1953 by associated academy member Prof. A.G. Akimov.
  • Then, the Institute was headed by academician V.I. Spitsyn (from 1953 to 1988).
  • And by associated academy member Prof. Yu.M. Polukarov (from 1988 to 2002).
  • Since 2002, the Institute is headed by academician A.Yu. Tsivadze, a winner of the State Prize and the RF Government Prize in Science and Technology.
  • In 2005, the Presidium of the Russian Academy of Sciences restored the status quo and reorganized the Institute of Physical Chemistry by merging it with the Institute of Electrochemistry. After that, the Institute received its present name – the A.N. Frumkin Institute of Physical Chemistry and Electrochemistry.
  • In August 2008 the Institute was renamed in accordance with the Resolution of RAS Presidium №274 dated Decemter 18, 2007 “About the Renaming of Organisations within Jurisdiction of Russian Academy of Sciences” to “Institution of Russian Academy of Sciences A. N. Frumkin Institute of Physical Chemistry and Electrochemistry”.
Kistyakovsky V. A.

Academician V.A. Kistyakovsky

1865 -1952

Frumkin A. N.

Academician A.N. Frumkin

1895 -1976

Akimov G. V.

Ass. Academy Member

A.G. Akimov

1901—1953

Spitsin V. I.

Academician V.I. Spitsyn

1902 – 1988

Polukarov Yu. M.

Ass. Academy Member

Yu.M. Polukarov

1927 – 2010

Tsivadze A. Yu.

Academician A.Yu. Tsivadze

1943 г.р.

 
 
shadow shadow
Яндекс.Метрика

Образование Института | 2017 ИФХЭ РАН

Образование Института

История Института начинается в 1929 году, в г. Санкт-Петербурге (в то время г. Ленинграде). Академик В.А. Кистяковский, известный физикохимик, занимавшийся изучением комплексных коллоидно-электрохимических проблем, по поручению Президиума АН СССР организовал при Академии наук Коллоидо-электрохимическую лабораторию (ЛАКЭ АН СССР). Образование лаборатории явилось следствием бурного развития исследований коллоидов химиками во всем мире. Штат Лаборатории начинался с 9 человек. Направлениями исследований были: дисперсные системы, электрохимия, пассивация и коррозия металлов.

  • B 1934 году, при переезде со всей Академией наук в Москву, Лаборатория получила статус Коллоидо-электрохимического института АН СССР (КЭИН). Первым директором Института стал академик В.А. Кистяковский, возглавлявший его до 1939 года.
  • В 1939 году Президиум АН СССР по просьбе В.А. Кистяковского освободил его от исполнения обязанностей директора Коллоидо-электрохимического института и назначил на эту должность академика А.Н.Фрумкина.
  • В 1945 году Коллоидо-электрохимический институт был преобразован в Институт физической химии АН СССР. Академик А.Н. Фрумкин возглавлял его до 1949 года.
  • В 1957 году по инициативе А.Н. Фрумкина на базе Отдела электрохимии Института физической химии был организован Институт электрохимии АН СССР, который академик А.Н. Фрумкин возглавлял до конца жизни. После него Институтом электрохимии руководили академик В.Е. Казаринов (1977 – 1999 гг.), доктор химических наук Б.М. Графов (1999-2004 гг.). В 1983 году Институту электрохимии было присвоено имя А.Н. Фрумкина.
  • Член-корреспондент Г.В. Акимов возглавлял Институт физической химии с 1949 по 1953 год.
  • Академик В.И. Спицын возглавлял Институт с 1953 по 1988 год.
  • Член-корреспондент РАН Ю.М. Полукаров возглавлял Институт с 1988 по 2002 год.
  • В настоящее время (с 2002 года) Институтом руководит лауреат Государственной премии и премии Правительства РФ академик А.Ю. Цивадзе.
  • В 2005 г. по Постановлению Президиума РАН Институт физической химии реорганизован путем присоединения к нему Института электрохимии им. А.Н. Фрумкина и переименован в Институт физической химии и электрохимии им. А.Н. Фрумкина РАН.
  • В августе 2008 г. по Постановлению Президиума РАН от 18 декабря 2007 года № 274 «О переименовании организаций, подведомственных Российской академии наук» Институт физической химии и электрохимии им. А.Н. Фрумкина Российской академии наук переименован в Учреждение Российской академии наук Институт физической химии и электрохимии им. А.Н.Фрумкина.
Kistyakovsky V. A.

Академик В.А. Кистяковский

1865 -1952

Frumkin A. N.

Академик А. Н. Фрумкин

1895 -1976

Akimov G. V.

Член-корреспондент Г. В. Акимов

1901—1953

Spitsin V. I.

Академик В. И. Спицын

1902 – 1988

Polukarov Yu. M.

Член-корреспондент

Ю. М. Полукаров

1927 г.р.

Tsivadze A. Yu.

Академик А. Ю. Цивадзе

1943 г.р.

 
 
shadow shadow
Яндекс.Метрика